A total of 66 awards and 1,200€ in cash prizes

Gipuzkoa Trophy

This trophy is awarded to the Best Work of the Salon.

The origin of the contest is the International Photographic Salon of San Sebastián. The first edition dates back to 1948 in which 1398 photos were presented by 458 authors from 28 different countries. Our catalogues were the best in the Iberian Peninsula and were even printed by photogravure. After eight editions there was a lapse of a few years until it was eventually replaced in 1972 with the current Gipuzkoa International Trophy, already then sponsored by the FIAP.

The Trophy was created and bestowed by Nestor Basterretxea. In this funerary stela which he created he saw a series of sections of the different components that make up a a lens and he donated it free of charge for the award of the “International Festival of Amateur Cinema”. When this festival ceased to be, the sculpture became the Gipuzkoa International Trophy.

Marquis of Rocaverde

The Marquis of Rocaverde Trophy is awarded to the best Basque author.

It was created in 1971. The name of “Marquis of Rocaverde” was approved by acclamation by the General Board and given to the Provincial Photographic Competition (Basque authors) in memory of D. Ignacio María de Urrecha y Arriola, the Marquis of Rocaverde, as a tribute to his work and love for the SFG. The trophy shows a Basque stela with a “Lauburu”.